Skip to content

Ontario Recognizes Safe and Accepting School in Oakville

AcceptingSchools_Shareable_ENG10_WhiteOaks_ENG | Government of Ontario
AcceptingSchools_Shareable_ENG10_WhiteOaks_ENG | Government of Ontario

Ontario is recognizing the students, teachers, principals, parents/guardians and other community members at White Oaks Secondary School for working together to foster a positive school environment that supports student achievement and well–being.

“The students and staff at White Oaks Secondary School are proud to be recognized with the Premiers Safe and Accepting Schools Award. Our Safe Schools team consisted of dedicated students, staff and parents who used many strategies over the past three years, designed to make White Oaks a safe and inclusive place for students and staff. This award not only recognizes how accepting our school is but also how far we have come in making our school a safe place for students to learn,” stated Paul Daignault, Vice Principal of White Oaks Secondary School.

I’m very proud of the work of White Oaks’ Safe and Accepting Schools Team to promote a positive school environment for students here in Oakville. It is the efforts of such dedicated teams that help to make this such a wonderful community.

Each member of White Oaks Secondary School’s Safe and Accepting Schools Team is receiving a Premier’s Award for Accepting Schools. The annual award recognizes teams across the province that demonstrated leadership and innovation to promote and maintain a safe and accepting school environment last year.

The White Oaks team received an award for working together to foster a positive school environment that supports student achievement and well-being.

Team members include:

  1. Paul Daignault
  2. Sandra McVeety
  3. Roy Holmes
  4. Hazel Garde
  5. Launa Larlee
  6. Alison Carson
  7. Cosmin Cimpeanu
  8. Jason Bechard
  9. Donna Beaudin
  10. Ilker Hadzhalaran
  11. Terri Hummel
  12. Melanie Baird
  13. Tracy Chen
  14. Iris Bagchi–Wu
  15. Sherry Kirkham
  16. Jessica Lam
  17. Julia Russello
  18. Cate Mistruzzi
  19. Michelle Cheung
  20. Melissa Turkstra
  21. Ronda Rumig
  22. Raavi Parhar

“Congratulations to all of the recipients of the Premier’s Awards for Accepting Schools for creating positive and inclusive school environments. We know how important safe and accepting environments are to help students reach their full potential,” commented Liz Sandals, Ontario Minister of Education

Supporting safe and accepting school environments is part of the government's plan to build Ontario up. The four-part plan includes investing in people's talents and skills, making the largest investment in public infrastructure in Ontario's history, creating a dynamic, innovative environment where business thrives, and building a secure retirement savings plan.


  • Every school in Ontario is required to have a Safe and Accepting Schools Team.
  • Since 2004, the government has invested more than $490 million to support school boards and communities to create safe and inclusive schools by funding programs such as bullying prevention and intervention programs as well as adding staff to schools including child and youth workers, social workers and psychologists. In 2015–16, Ontario will invest an additional projected $65 million to create safe and inclusive schools.
  • Promoting well–being is a key goal of Ontario’s renewed vision for education.