Skip to content

Oakville launches 13th Annual Community Spirit Awards


The Town of Oakville officially launched the 13th Annual Community Spirit Awards today, encouraging residents to nominate community champions that they admire and appreciate in one of eight award categories.

“We want to honour the great people who are making a difference in our community,” said Mayor Rob Burton. “Let’s share their stories, celebrate their achievements and recognize their dedication to making Oakville even more livable.”

Nominations will be accepted until Monday, April 14 at 4 p.m. in the following award categories:

§  Access Award, sponsored by MEDIchair Halton

§  Arts Award, sponsored by The Oakville Beaver

§  Environmental Award, sponsored by Tim Hortons

§  Group Volunteer Award, sponsored by Sun Life Financial

§  Heritage and History Award, sponsored by Genworth Financial Canada

§  Individual Volunteer Award, sponsored by Paradiso Restaurant

§  Senior Award, sponsored by Chartwell Oakville

§  Youth Award, sponsored by RBC Royal Bank

This year’s annual Community Spirit Awards presentation will be held on Wednesday, June 11 at Oakville’s dynamic Queen Elizabeth Park Community and Cultural Centre (QEPCCC). Award-winning illustrator/artist Soyeon Kim has been commissioned to create the 2014 Community Spirit awards. An art instructor at QEPCCC, Kim’s unique art has been featured at national exhibitions and in children’s books.

Nomination forms are available for pick-up at all town recreation facilities, Town Hall and Oakville Public Library branches, or can be completed online. For more information about Oakville’s Community Spirit Awards categories and nomination requirements, please visit