Skip to content

Two Oakville residents appointed to Order of Ontario

Teresa Cascioli and Robert Poirier of Oakville are to be honoured at a ceremony on Nov. 21.
Government of Ontario
Government of Ontario

The Lieutenant Governor of Ontario and Chancellor of the Order of Ontario announced 24 new appointments to the Order of Ontario for 2021, including two Oakville residents: Teresa Cascioli and Robert Poirier. 

The Lieutenant Governor bestows the province's highest honour at a ceremony to be held on Nov. 21, 2022.

The Order of Ontario is the province's highest civilian honour for individuals.

Oakville recipients of Order of Ontario

Teresa Cascioli  Oakville

Teresa Cascioli is the former CEO of Hamilton’s Lakeport Brewing. After being appointed as the CEO in 1999, she saved the company from bankruptcy, turning it into a true Ontario success story in a highly competitive, male-dominated competitive beer industry. She took the company public in 2005

She then pivoted to supporting her community through generous philanthropic endeavours. The Teresa Cascioli Charitable Foundation has donated over $4 million to various organizations and institutions, including McMaster University, St. Joseph’s Healthcare, McMaster Children’s Hospital, City Kidz, Hamilton Food Share and McMaster Children’s Hospital.

She was awarded the Canadian Venture Capital Association’s Entrepreneur of the Year and the first female Italo-Canadian Entrepreneur of the Year.

Robert Poirier  Oakville

As the former chair and one of the longest-serving board directors, Robert Poirier helped transform Billy Bishop Toronto City Airport into one of the most successful, community-oriented, and environmentally sustainable urban airports in North America.

Committed to creating a more environmentally and community-friendly province, Mr. Poirier serves as chair overseeing Ontario’s transition to a circular economy and as chair of Metrolinx’s real estate committee responsible for transit-oriented development and community benefits.

"On behalf of a grateful province, the Ontario government is proud to honour and congratulate the 2021 appointees to the Order of Ontario," said Michael Ford, Minister of Citizenship and Multiculturalism.

"With their impressive achievements and outstanding contributions, these individuals represent the best of the best in our great province. Their dedication, drive and lifetime of service is an inspiration to everyone who aspires to build better communities and a stronger Ontario."

Order of Ontario for 2021 recipients
  • Payam Akhavan
  • Walter Arbib
  • Teresa Cascioli
  • George Chuvalo
  • Angela Cooper Brathwaite
  • Aimée Craft
  • Stephen Diamond
  • Nishan Duraiappah
  • Mitch Frazer
  • Leo Goldhar
  • Steve (Suresh) Gupta
  • Elise Harding-Davis
  • Armand P. La Barge
  • Sandra Laronde
  • Dave Levac
  • David McKay
  • Barbara Morrongiello
  • Lori Nikkel
  • Rose M. Patten
  • Christina Petrowska Quilico
  • Robert Poirier
  • Kevin Smith
  • Joan VanDuzer
  • Sara Waxman